CATEGORIES Oscars

It's Feb. 27, 2011 -- the date of the 83rd Academy Awards! And you're ready, with your Oscars ballot, your Oscars predictions, your Oscars party tips and your Oscars drinking game rules; and you've bookmarked the Oscar winners list, which we at Moviefone will be updating in real time. Now you just have one question: What time do the 2011 Oscars start?

For some people, the real show is the red carpet -- which starts at 6PM ET / 5PM CT / 3PM PT, and is televised on various channels, though the most popular coverage is on E! (from 6PM ET to 8PM ET). Ryan Seacrest and Giuliana Rancic will be greeting the stars as they arrive at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood, asking guests what they're wearing and providing fascinating banter along the lines of "Are you nervous?" and "What parties are you going to?"

Switch over to ABC at 8PM ET / 7PM CT / 5PM PT to watch the final half hour of red carpet coverage. And then kick back and watch the telecast of the Oscars ceremony begins at 8:30PM ET / 7:30PM CT / 5:30PM PT on ABC, hosted by James Franco and Anne Hathaway, who will join the pantheon of Oscar hosts and attempt to rank in your affections somewhere between Billy Crystal and Whoopi Goldberg. (Want a peek at what the lineup of the show might be, including a possibly appearance by Crystal himself? Deadline Hollywood published some unofficial spoilers here.) Check your local TV listings

Of course, you can skip all the TV coverage and just keep it here on Moviefone, where our complete Oscars 2011 coverage will include red carpet photos, best and worst dressed looks, real-time winners list updates, a live blog of the ceremony, a review of the hosts' performance and much more.


Complete Oscars 2011 Coverage