We told you earlier that OSS-117: Nest of Spies, The Trials of Darryl Hunt and Full Disclosure won the Golden Space Needle Audience Awards for Feature, Documentary, and Short, respectively, at the 32nd Annual Seattle International Film Festival. For those of you who have been anxiously checking back for the full list of the winners, here they are:


Grand Jury Prize: Host & Guest, directed by Shin Dong-il (South Korea)

"For its timely and universal story of two strangers moving towards common ground in an increasingly polarized world, told with great subtlety and emotional honesty."--Jury Statement

Special Jury Prize: Grain in Ear, directed by Zhang Lu (China)

"For its minimal yet exacting portrait of a woman of poverty who chooses to be the agent of her destiny rather than a victim of circumstance, and for its bold juxtaposing of China's harsh realities against the ghosts of Maoist idealism." --Jury Statement

The Jury for the New Directors Showcase Competition was comprised of Scott Foundas (chief film critic and editor for LA Weekly), Caroline Libresco (senior programmer for Sundance Film Festival), and Oscar Torres (actor/writer/producer and winner of SIFF 2005 GSN for Innocent Voices).


Grand Jury Prize: Live Free or Die, directed by Gregg Kavet and Andy Robin

"In a competition of consistently high quality, the award for best new American Independent film goes to Gregg Kavet's LIVE FREE OR DIE, for the meticulous crafting of its screenplay, its perfect ensemble cast and its outstanding use of High Definition cinematography." --Jury Statement

Special Jury Mention: Man Push Cart, actor Ahmed Razvi

The jury would like to give a special commendation to the actor Ahmed Razvi in the film MAN PUSH CART, for his skill in conveying such a wide range of emotions within the physical limitations of the space with which he was allowed to work, as well as the indelible realism of his acting performance." --Jury Statement

The Jury for the New American Cinema competition was comprised of Robinson Devor (director of Police Beat, nominated for 2006 Independent Spirit Award), Ann Donahue (news editor at Premiere magazine) and Jim Stark (producer, produced SIFF 2006 Gala Film Factotum).


Grand Jury Prize: Gitmo: The New Rules of War, directed Erik Gandini and Tarik Sale

"This timely and important investigation illuminates the crux of an issue that has not been sufficiently explored in mainstream media. Its formal structure exposes the process of the investigation while highlighting the degree of obstruction or cooperation of its subjects." --Jury Statement

Special Jury Mention: Walking to Werner, directed by Linas Phillips

"An unconventional and completely charming film that offers not only entertainment but also spiritual depth and an homage to an important and original filmmaker." --Jury Statement

The Jury for Best Documentary is comprised of Kay Armatage (Professor of Film Studies at Innis College, Toronto and former member of Toronto Film Festival programming team), Brian Brooks (associate editor at indieWIRE), Caroline Cumming (Executive Director of 911 Media Arts).


Best Narrative Short
Grand Jury Prize:
Before Dawn, director Balint Kenyeres
Special Jury Mention: Mother, director Sian Heder

Best Animated Short
Grand Jury Prize: Ringo, director Dave Monahan
Special Jury Mentions: Fumi and the Bad Luck Foot, director David Chai; and Marvelous, Keen Loony Bin, director Lizzi Akana

Best Documentary Short
Grand Jury Prize: Lot 63, Grave C, director Sam Green
Special Jury Mention: Undressing My Mother, director Ken Wardrop

The Jury for Short Films is comprised of Jason Reitman (director, Thank You for Smoking), Anita Monga (programmer for Palm Springs International Film Festival), and George Wing (screenwriter, 50 First Dates).


Best Film: OSS 117: NEST OF SPIES, director Michel Hazanavicius (France)

1st Runner Up for Best Picture is Wristcutters, A Love Story, directed by Goran Dukic (USA); 2nd Runner Up is Elsa & Fred directed by Marcos Carnevale (Spain); 3rd Runner Up is Quinceañera by directors Wash Westmoreland and Richard Glatzer (USA); and 4th Runner Up is Lassie directed by Charles Sturridge (Ireland).

Best Documentary: The Trials of Darryl Hunt, directors Rickie Stern and Annie Sundberg (USA)

1st Runner Up for Best Documentary is Heart of the Game directed by Ward Serrill (USA); 2nd Runner Up is American Blackout directed by Ian Inaba; 3rd Runner Up is Wrestling with Angels: Playwright Tony Kushner directed by Freida Lee Mock (USA); and 4th Runner Up is Who Killed the Electric Car? directed by Chris Paine.

Best Director: Goran Dukic, Wristcutters: A Love Story (USA)

1st Runner Up for Best Director is Andrucha Waddington, House of Sand (Spain); 2ND Runner Up is Marco Tullio Giordana, Once You're Born You Can No Longer Hide (Italy); 3rd Runner Up is Jean-Marc Vallee, C.R.A.Z.Y. (Canada); and 4th Runner Up is Ishai Setton, The Big Bad Swim (USA).

Best Actress: Fiona Gordon, The Iceberg (Belgium)

1st Runner Up for Best Actress is Sigourney Weaver, Snow Cake (Canada/UK); 2nd Runner Up is Fernanda Montenegro, House of Sand (Spain); 3rd Runner Up is China Zorilla, Elsa & Fred (Spain); and 4th Runner Up is Shareeka Epps, Half Nelson (USA).

Best Actor: Ryan Gosling, Half Nelson (USA)

1st Runner Up for Best Actor is Alan Rickman, Snow Cake (Canada/UK); 2nd Runner Up is Chris Tashima, Americanese (USA); 3rd Runner Up is Ulrich Thomsen, Adam's Apples (Denmark); and 4th Runner Up is David Dencik, A Soap (Denmark).

Best Short: Full Disclosure, directed by Douglas Horn (USA)

1st Runner Up for Best Short is Heavy Metal Jr.  directed by Chris Waitt (Scotland); 2nd Runner Up is The Legend of the Scarecrow directed by Marco Besas (Spain); 3rd Runner Up is K-7 directed by Christopher Leone (USA); and 4th Runner Up is Choque directed by Nacho Vigalondo (Spain).

Winner for Best Short Film will receive a brand new 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo MacBook Pro courtesy of the Mac Store/IrisInk. The Best Short Film winner also receives $1,000 of Kodak color negative motion picture film from Eastman Kodak Company.


Women in Cinema Lena Sharpe Award: Freida Lee Mock, Wrestling With Angels: Playwright Tony Kushner 

WaveMaker Award for Excellence in Youth Filmmaking: Slip of the Tongue, directed by Karen Lum.

WaveMaker Honorable Mention: Rez Life, directed by Nick Clark, Martin Edwards and David Aleck

FutureWave Audience Award: The Drive Thru, produced by Stacey Rozich, Matt Lewis, Jesse Lomax and Ashley Russell